Cinematique

Cinematique of Wilmington Film Series

Contact the Thalian Hall Box Office for Ticket Information:
Thalian Box Office: (910) 632-2285
310 Chestnut Street
Open Monday - Saturday, 2PM-6PM
Tickets are also available at the Thalian Hall Website.
Admission is $7 (+ tax and $1 ticketing fee)

Woody Allen's bittersweet romance Café Society follows Bronx-born Bobby Dorfman (Jesse Eisenberg) through the high society nightclub life in New York filled with the well-known names of Steve Carrel, Kristen Stewart and Blake Lively.

Centering on events in the lives of Bobby's colorful Bronx family, the film is a glittering valentine to the movie stars, socialites, playboys, debutantes, politicians, and gangsters who epitomized the excitement and glamour of the 1930’s.

Deep in the forests of the Pacific Northwest, isolated from society, a devoted father (Viggo Mortensen) dedicates his life to transforming his six young children into extraordinary adults. But when a tragedy strikes the family, they are forced to leave this self-created paradise and begin a journey into the outside world that challenges his idea of what it means to be a parent and brings into question everything he's taught them. Writer and director, Matt Ross delivers this family drama alongside of humor and sentiment.

(Rated R, Runtime 119 minutes)

A hilarious, touching crowd-pleaser, “Hunt For The Wilderpeople” from Taika Waititi reminds us about the journey that growing up is (at any age) and those who help us along the way.

Ewan McGregor and Naomie Harris star in this gripping adaptation of John le Carré's best-selling thriller about an ordinary English couple who find themselves caught up in international intrigue. While on vacation in Marrakech, an ordinary English couple befriend a flamboyant and charismatic Russian who, unbeknownst to them, is a kingpin money launderer for the Russian mafia.

Monday-Friday, August 1-5, 7 pm

Wednesday, August 3, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Friday, July 4-8, 7 pm

Wednesday, July 6, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Wednesday, July 11-13, 7 pm

Wednesday, July 13, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage Theatre

Monday-Wednesday, July 18-20, 7 pm

Wednesday, July 20, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage Theatre

NOTE NEW SCHEDULE AND THEATRE

Monday-Friday, July 25-29, 7 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Miles Ahead

In celebration of the release of the Miles Davis film Miles Ahead at Cinematique of Wilmington this week, WHQR 91.3 FM will broadcast a new one hour radio special tonight, Tuesday, June 7th at 8 pm.

The special includes interviews with the film's director and star, Don Cheadle, film composer and pianist Robert Glasper, plus Miles’ son, Erin Davis, and nephew, Vince Wilburn, Jr. The special also includes several of Miles Davis’ classics, including "Seven Steps to Heaven," "Miles Ahead," and "So What." 

Monday-Friday, June 6-10, 7 pm

Wednesday, June 8, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Wednesday, June 13-15, 7 pm

Wednesday, June 15, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Cultures collide when an American businessman (Tom Hanks) is sent to Saudi Arabia to close what he hopes will be the deal of a lifetime. Baffled by local customs and stymied by an opaque bureaucracy, he eventually finds his footing with the help of a wise-cracking taxi driver (Alexander Black) and a beautiful Saudi doctor (Sarita Choudhury). (Rated R, 1 hour 37 minutes)

Monday-Wednesday, June 20-22, 7 pm

Wednesday, June 22, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Monday-Wednesday, June 27-29, 7 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Wednesday, June 29, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Wednesday, May 23-25, 7 pm

Wednesday, May 25, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Monday-Wednesday, May 30-June 1, 7 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Wednesday, June 1, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Wednesday April 25-27, 7pm

Wednesday, April 27, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

To Our Valued Patrons,

Unfortunately due to technical difficulties all screenings this week of the Cinematique Film, Dior and I, have been cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience. 

If you have already purchased tickets for any screening please contact our box office at 910-632-2285 for a full refund.

Thursday, March 10

4pm & 7 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Monday-Friday, April 18-22, 7 pm

Wednesday, April 20, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Wednesday April 11-13, 7pm

Wednesday, April 13, 4 pm

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Monday-Friday, April 4-8, 7 pm

Wednesday, April 6, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

***Fashion Week***

Monday-Friday, March 28- April 1, 7 pm

Wednesday, March 30, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Monday-Friday, March 21-25, 7 pm

Wednesday, March 23, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

NEW SCREENINGS ADDED!

Monday-Friday, March 14-18, 7 pm

Wednesday-Friday, March 16-18, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

***4PM SCREENING ONLY TODAY - 7PM CANCELED***

Friday, February 26, 4pm

MAIN STAGE

We apologize, but due to an equipment issue, we are unable to screen Carol at 7pm. We have moved the 4pm screening to the Main Theatre. Hope to see you there!

Stephen Lovekin/Getty Images


WHQR and Thalian Hall are bringing you the 2016 Oscar Shorts! Oscar Shorts showcases the best short films of 2015 and features today's most talented emerging filmmakers. Whether you like animation, live action, or documentaries, 2016 Oscar Shorts has something just for you. Check out the lineup below for a complete schedule of films:

Monday-Wednesday, February 15-17, 7 PM

Thalian Hall Main Stage

Wednesday, February 17, 4 pm

The Ruth & Bucky Stein Theatre

Somasundaram rino via Wikimedia Commons

Happy New Year to all our listeners! We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to bringing you great radio in 2016. Just like the old Mickey Mouse Club, we have different days here on Friday Feedback, and today, Mouseketeers, is another Gripe Day!

Listener Jack called in during Wednesday’s Coastline to ask that our guests not use the word “suck” as a term of disapproval. He felt it cheapens our language to use it as a word for something ugly, and suggest the guests use “stink” instead.

Listener Bill wrote:

Pages