North Carolina http://whqr.org en NC Unemployment Dips Slightly in October http://whqr.org/post/nc-unemployment-dips-slightly-october <p></p><p>According to the most recent report from the North Carolina Labor and Economic Analysis Division, the state unemployment rate decreased in October. WHQR’s Sara Wood reports it dropped slightly to 9.3 percent.</p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 18:41:25 +0000 Sara Wood 27614 at http://whqr.org NC Unemployment Dips Slightly in October Film production in 2012 already beats 2011 record in NC http://whqr.org/post/film-production-2012-already-beats-2011-record-nc <p>Film production in North Carolina this year alone has already outpaced last year&rsquo;s record-setting numbers.&nbsp; Thu, 26 Jul 2012 14:25:25 +0000 Rachel Lewis Hilburn 21128 at http://whqr.org Film production in 2012 already beats 2011 record in NC Brunswick Teaching Fellow up for Teacher of the Year http://whqr.org/post/brunswick-teaching-fellow-teacher-year <p>One of Melissa Warren&rsquo;s ninth grade English students, Juan Morales at South Brunswick High School, says her class is like the Army&mdash;you must be on time, you must be prepared, and you must make every second count.</p><p> Sun, 08 Apr 2012 15:30:38 +0000 Michelle Bliss 14485 at http://whqr.org Brunswick Teaching Fellow up for Teacher of the Year Unemployment Falls in 84 NC Counties http://whqr.org/post/unemployment-falls-84-nc-counties-0 <p>The North Carolina Department of Commerce released county unemployment rates for February Thursday.</p><p> Thu, 05 Apr 2012 19:13:40 +0000 Sara Wood 14360 at http://whqr.org Unemployment Falls in 84 NC Counties McCrory Lays out State Education Plan http://whqr.org/post/mccrory-lays-out-state-education-plan <p>Republican Gubernatorial candidate Pat McCrory laid out his education platform Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 28 Mar 2012 20:09:06 +0000 13911 at http://whqr.org McCrory Lays out State Education Plan NC Residents can Drop Off Old Meds http://whqr.org/post/nc-residents-can-drop-old-meds <p>North Carolinians can get rid of their old prescription medications at more than 200 drop-off events across the state next week.</p><p> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 20:50:52 +0000 Michelle Bliss 13284 at http://whqr.org NC Residents can Drop Off Old Meds NC Unemployment Rate Dips Slightly in January http://whqr.org/post/nc-unemployment-rate-dips-slightly-january <p>The latest unemployment rates for North Carolina have been released by the Department of Commerce, giving a different look to the state&rsquo;s economy.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 14 Mar 2012 14:33:12 +0000 Jessica Ferrer 13117 at http://whqr.org NC Unemployment Rate Dips Slightly in January NC Maritime Strategy Up for Discussion http://whqr.org/post/nc-maritime-strategy-discussion <p>Residents can voice their opinions on the draft report of the North Carolina Maritime Strategy study this week.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 05 Mar 2012 18:53:00 +0000 Michelle Bliss 12637 at http://whqr.org NC Maritime Strategy Up for Discussion Photo ID Now Required for Prescription Narcotics http://whqr.org/post/photo-id-now-required-prescription-narcotics <p>The State Bureau of Investigation&rsquo;s Donnie Varnell says that out-of-state drug dealers drive to North Carolina to get their fraudulent prescriptions filled. That&rsquo;s because North Carolina hasn&rsquo;t required them to show a photo ID.</p><p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 22:07:04 +0000 Michelle Bliss 12533 at http://whqr.org Photo ID Now Required for Prescription Narcotics NC Approves Nine Charter Schools http://whqr.org/post/nc-approves-nine-charter-schools <p>Nine new charter schools have been approved by the State Board of Education.</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 21:12:15 +0000 12468 at http://whqr.org NC Approves Nine Charter Schools