Elections 2011 http://whqr.org en WHQR's Elections Rundown http://whqr.org/post/whqrs-elections-rundown <p>The results are in for this year’s municipal elections across the Cape Fear Region. WHQR’s Michelle Bliss reports that despite low turnout at the polls, there were a few surprises that surfaced late last night.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 20:30:38 +0000 Michelle Bliss 6563 at http://whqr.org 2011 Election analysis with Ralph Kornegay http://whqr.org/post/2011-election-analysis-ralph-kornegay <p>The 2011 municipal elections in the Cape Fear region, as analyzed by Ralph Kornegay, Professor of Political Science Emeritus at Cape Fear Community College and currently an instructor at UNC Wilmington. Wed, 09 Nov 2011 14:45:57 +0000 Cleve Callison 6538 at http://whqr.org 2011 Election analysis with Ralph Kornegay Suspenseful Race for Wilmington City Council comes to an End http://whqr.org/post/suspenseful-race-wilmington-city-council-comes-end <p>Last night&rsquo;s city council race in Wilmington proved suspenseful up until the end with two new candidates winning seats.</p><p>WHQR&rsquo;s Sara Wood reports the race between newcomer Neil Anderson and incumbent Ronald Sparks was the evening&rsquo;s most tightly contested.</p><p>Sparks and Andersen were neck and neck until the last precinct reported, inching Anderson ahead to victory with 14.95 percent of votes compared to Sparks with 14.23 percent.</p><p>Sparks says he spent all day on the campaign trail to gather support.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 08:24:44 +0000 Sara Wood 6516 at http://whqr.org Saffo Wins Mayoral Seat in his Fourth Election http://whqr.org/post/saffo-wins-mayoral-seat-his-fourth-election <p>While many races in last night’s municipal elections were tightly contested, several mayoral candidates in New Hanover, Brunswick and Pender counties won by landslides.<br /> WHQR’s Sara Wood reports that the mayoral race in Wilmington proved to be no exception.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 08:21:33 +0000 Sara Wood 6515 at http://whqr.org 2011 Election Results Are In http://whqr.org/post/2011-election-results-are <p>The results from this year’s municipal elections are in. Check out the returns for Brunswick, New Hanover, and Pender Counties.</p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 04:49:35 +0000 Michelle Bliss 6513 at http://whqr.org Got questions about the election? http://whqr.org/post/got-questions-about-election <p><strong>Wednesday, November 9</strong>: Political scientist Ralph Kornegay will be our guest live at 7:40 and 8:40 during today&#39;s Morning Edition to discuss yesterday&#39;s election returns. Send your questions to feedback@whqr.org.</p><p><em>Each week we read questions and comments from WHQR listeners. So whatever&#39;s on your mind, good, bad or indifferent about any aspect of our programming or operations, let us hear from you. You can send us an email to feedback@whqr.org and we&#39;ll air it on Friday at 7:35 and 8:50 am, and 5:45 pm.</em></p> Wed, 09 Nov 2011 02:42:47 +0000 Cleve Callison 6511 at http://whqr.org Got questions about the election? Castle Hayne Voters Cast Ballots on Possible Incorporation http://whqr.org/post/castle-hayne-voters-cast-ballots-possible-incorporation <p>Voters in Castle Hayne&nbsp;who cast&nbsp;their ballots at the Riverside Park polling place, walked between advocates holding election signs both for and against the area&rsquo;s possible incorporation.</p><p>James Abbott held up a sign against the measure and voted no for incorporation, but he did vote for possible council members in case Castle Hayne becomes a town.</p> Tue, 08 Nov 2011 21:59:34 +0000 Michelle Bliss 6503 at http://whqr.org Williston Middle Closed Late for Voters After Brief Lockdown http://whqr.org/post/williston-middle-closed-late-voters-after-brief-lockdown <p>A shooting at the corner of 13th and Ann Streets in Wilmington caused three schools to briefly go on lockdown Tuesday morning, including Williston Middle School. </p> <p>The shooting was unrelated to the schools and students, and the Wilmington Police Department is now reminding voters that Williston has reopened as a polling location.</p> Tue, 08 Nov 2011 21:07:52 +0000 Michelle Bliss 6496 at http://whqr.org NHCo. Early Voting Turnout Low Despite More Polling Sites http://whqr.org/post/nhco-early-voting-turnout-low-despite-more-polling-sites <p>Saturday is the last day for early voting in New Hanover County where there are more than 87,000 registered voters eligible for municipal elections. </p> <p>WHQR's Sara Wood reports that despite the county's efforts to make early voting more accessible, turnout so far for this election remains predictably low.</p> Thu, 03 Nov 2011 19:39:50 +0000 Sara Wood 6248 at http://whqr.org Topsail Beach Mayor Hopefuls on Tourism http://whqr.org/post/topsail-beach-mayor-hopefuls-tourism <p>Topsail Beach residents will have two mayoral candidates on the ballot next week: incumbent Howard Braxton and Commissioner Buck Taylor.<br /> WHQR’s Michelle Bliss reports both candidates agree that protecting the town’s natural resources with a long-term beach renourishment plan is crucial for attracting tourists, but they suggest different strategies for growing the town’s central business district.</p> Wed, 02 Nov 2011 22:22:33 +0000 Michelle Bliss 6199 at http://whqr.org