Elizabeth Blair http://whqr.org en In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero http://whqr.org/post/little-engine-could-some-see-early-feminist-hero "Chug, chug, chug. Puff, puff, puff. Ding-dong, ding-dong."<p>The beloved tale of the little blue engine — who helps bring a broken-down train of toys to the good little boys and girls on the other side of the mountain — has been chugging along for a very long time. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 57756 at http://whqr.org In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero Think Before You Clap: You Could Be Beat Deaf http://whqr.org/post/think-you-clap-you-could-be-beat-deaf <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZWa_LAfhNk</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 06:03:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 56995 at http://whqr.org Think Before You Clap: You Could Be Beat Deaf In Confronting Poverty, 'Harvest Of Shame' Reaped Praise And Criticism http://whqr.org/post/confronting-poverty-harvest-shame-reaped-praise-and-criticism <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJTVF_dya7E</p> Sat, 31 May 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55800 at http://whqr.org In Confronting Poverty, 'Harvest Of Shame' Reaped Praise And Criticism Pfizer Drops $119 Billion Bid For AstraZeneca http://whqr.org/post/pfizer-drops-119-billion-bid-astrazeneca It would have been the biggest deal the pharmaceutical industry has seen in more than a decade. Tue, 27 May 2014 05:36:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55543 at http://whqr.org Pfizer Drops $119 Billion Bid For AstraZeneca Remembering The 'Father' Of G.I. Joe http://whqr.org/post/remembering-father-gi-joe Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block. Now we're going to remember the man who was known as the father of G.I. Joe. Donald Levine was a toy industry executive in the early 1960s, when the iconic action figure stormed playrooms across the country. Levine died of cancer late last week. He was 86. NPR's Elizabeth Blair does this appreciation.<p>ELIZABETH BLAIR, BYLINE: Donald Levine served in the Army during the Korean War. Mon, 26 May 2014 21:17:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55538 at http://whqr.org Colbert Plans To Take Up The Late Night Mic For CBS http://whqr.org/post/colbert-plans-take-late-night-mic-cbs Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The coveted spot held by David Letterman for 21 years will go to Stephen Colbert. CBS made the announcement today. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 53201 at http://whqr.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] http://whqr.org/post/fans-good-wife-rocked-spoiler-alert The CBS legal drama <em>The Good Wife</em> centers on smart, attractive Chicago lawyer Alicia Florrick. She's "the good wife" because she stood by her politician husband when he cheated on her.<p>But the show's most compelling story line has always been between Alicia and another lawyer, Will Gardner. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:54:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 52348 at http://whqr.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director http://whqr.org/post/smithsonian-institution-gets-new-director The new head of the Smithsonian Institution was announced Monday. <a href="http://www.cornell.edu/president/about.cfm">David Skorton</a> will leave his job as president of Cornell University to become the institution's 13th secretary since its founding in 1846.<p>Skorton becomes the first physician to lead the Smithsonian. He's a board-certified cardiologist and amateur <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeuZY7uBSG4">jazz musician</a>. Most importantly for the Smithsonian, he's a skilled fundraiser. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 18:06:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 51597 at http://whqr.org Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director Valery Gergiev, The Powerful And Polarizing Maestro http://whqr.org/post/valery-gergiev-powerful-and-polarizing-maestro <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-dpVISqPy4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r71xgacQ3jI</p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 21:31:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 50003 at http://whqr.org Valery Gergiev, The Powerful And Polarizing Maestro Philip Seymour Hoffman: An 'Uncanny' Actor Of Stage And Screen http://whqr.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-uncanny-actor-stage-and-screen Actor Philip Seymour Hoffman was <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/02/02/270599816/philip-seymour-hoffman-oscar-winner-found-dead-at-46">found dead on Sunday</a> in his Manhattan apartment. He was 46.<p>Hoffman was steeped in his profession — in film, on stage, in the spotlight and behind the scenes.<p>In 2005, he won the Oscar for best actor for his portrayal of Truman Capote. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 00:06:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 49909 at http://whqr.org Philip Seymour Hoffman: An 'Uncanny' Actor Of Stage And Screen