Neda Ulaby http://whqr.org en For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://whqr.org/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 58406 at http://whqr.org For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television http://whqr.org/post/i-kinda-stole-show-laverne-cox-and-path-prestige-television "My femininity was seen as a problem that needed to be solved."<p>Laverne Cox is talking about her childhood in Mobile, Ala. She remembers being routinely chased and beaten by classmates after school. Cox was born biologically male, and her gender identity was confusing and threatening not just to other children but to the grown-ups in her life as well. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 56158 at http://whqr.org 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://whqr.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 53379 at http://whqr.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://whqr.org/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 52744 at http://whqr.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 http://whqr.org/post/scott-asheton-drummer-stooges-dies-64 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRuN2ayttsY</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 51992 at http://whqr.org Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://whqr.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 51208 at http://whqr.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://whqr.org/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:22:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 49433 at http://whqr.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://whqr.org/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:14:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 48771 at http://whqr.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful How A Hip-Hop Remix Helped Make 'Cruise' The Year's Biggest Country Hit http://whqr.org/post/how-hip-hop-remix-helped-make-cruise-years-biggest-country-hit <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PvebsWcpto</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmZ9xRO7M9M</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 16:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 48164 at http://whqr.org How A Hip-Hop Remix Helped Make 'Cruise' The Year's Biggest Country Hit Quiet As Kept, Women Dominated Country Music In 2013 http://whqr.org/post/quiet-kept-women-dominated-country-music-2013 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=plPRmANJF_w</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZfj2Ir3GgQ</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 21:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 48132 at http://whqr.org Quiet As Kept, Women Dominated Country Music In 2013