Jeff Brady http://whqr.org en Marathon Safety Embraced By Boston, For The Most Part http://whqr.org/post/marathon-safety-embraced-boston-most-part Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>This year's Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, and it will have a lot more security than in the past. Last year, of course, two bombs near the finish line killed three people and injured dozens more. Afterwards, Massachusetts authorities spent months developing a new security plan. The goal was to create an environment that's safe and secure but still allows people to have fun. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 53588 at http://whqr.org Boston Mourns A Tragic Anniversary With Voices Of Victims http://whqr.org/post/boston-mourns-tragic-anniversary-voices-victims One year has passed since bombs rocked the finish line of the Boston Marathon. The city honored victims of the tragedy Tuesday with a tribute, including speeches from three of the victims themselves. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 53426 at http://whqr.org Boston To Pay Tribute To Victims Of Last Year's Bombing http://whqr.org/post/boston-pay-tribute-victims-last-years-bombing Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Kelly McEvers.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene, good morning.<p>One year ago today, the Boston Marathon became more than just one of the world's major sporting events. It became a target. As runners crossed the finish line just before 3:00 in the afternoon, two bombs exploded. Three people were killed and dozens more were wounded. This year the marathon is scheduled for next week. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 53390 at http://whqr.org After Deaths, Renewed Focus On Leaky Gas Pipelines http://whqr.org/post/after-deaths-renewed-focus-leaky-gas-pipelines After a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/12/289434505/firefighters-respond-to-building-collapse-in-new-yorks-harlem">gas explosion</a> last month in New York leveled two buildings and killed eight people, an old issue received new attention: aging natural gas pipelines that leak.<p>It can take decades and billions of dollars to replace old steel and cast-iron pipes with plastic ones, but some utilities are making that a priority.<p>In Philadelphia, after a long, cold winter, construction crews are back at work. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 53368 at http://whqr.org After Deaths, Renewed Focus On Leaky Gas Pipelines Before Classes Even Begin, Mass Stabbing Leaves School Reeling http://whqr.org/post/classes-even-begin-mass-stabbing-leaves-school-reeling Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And Melissa Block.<p>A 16 year-old boy is in custody after a knife attack at a high school near Pittsburgh left at least 20 people injured. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 53142 at http://whqr.org This Tax Season, Fraudsters May Target Your Refund http://whqr.org/post/tax-season-fraudsters-may-target-your-refund You've already heard about thieves stealing credit card numbers, with <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/12/19/255415230/breach-at-target-stores-may-affect-40-million-card-accounts">the Target stores theft</a> dominating the news headlines. But imagine what a thief could do with your company's payroll records. Those contain valuable information such as your Social Security number, date of birth, your address and how much you earn.<p>Gary Blatto-Vallee of Webster, N.Y., learned how damaging this type of data theft can be when he tried to submit his federal tax return. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:19:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 52697 at http://whqr.org This Tax Season, Fraudsters May Target Your Refund Why Oil Drilling Is Both Safer And Riskier Since Exxon Valdez http://whqr.org/post/why-oil-drilling-both-safer-and-riskier-exxon-valdez A lot has changed for the energy industry since the Exxon Valdez hit a reef in 1989 and began spilling oil into Alaska's Prince William Sound. The outcry over images of oil-soaked wildlife and a once-pristine shoreline dirtied by crude ushered in greater scrutiny of oil operations and increased interest in research on how to clean up oil spills.<p>But while regulation may be tighter and spill response more robust today, companies are working in more challenging environments than they were 25 years ago. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 07:20:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 52354 at http://whqr.org Why Oil Drilling Is Both Safer And Riskier Since Exxon Valdez Customer Surveys Are Here To Stay. Suggestions For Improvement? http://whqr.org/post/customer-surveys-are-here-stay-suggestions-improvement Call the cable company, and an automated voice wants to ask you about the experience. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 07:02:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 51634 at http://whqr.org Customer Surveys Are Here To Stay. Suggestions For Improvement? Kiev Protesters Find Backup In Philly http://whqr.org/post/kiev-protesters-find-backup-philly Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Russia's president is also being criticized by Ukrainian-Americans watching the violent confrontations going on in their home country. Ukrainians in the U.S. tend to side with those protesting in Kiev's independent square. They're angry that President Viktor Yanukovych chose a closer relationship with Russia over a deal with the EU.<p>The Philadelphia area is home to more than 55,000 people of Ukrainian ancestry. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 50774 at http://whqr.org Powerless In Pennsylvania And Awaiting The Storm's Return http://whqr.org/post/powerless-pennsylvania-and-awaiting-storms-return Over 400,000 people in Pennsylvania still have no power following this week's ice storm. Many won't get back their power back before Sunday — but another winter super storm is expected over the weekend, worrying officials and residents over how they will stay warm. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 21:51:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 50116 at http://whqr.org