Robert Krulwich http://whqr.org en The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever http://whqr.org/post/most-astonishing-wave-tracking-experiment-ever I'm standing on a beach and I see, a few hundred yards out, a mound of water heading right at me. It's not a wave, not yet, but a swollen patch of ocean, like the top of a moving beach ball, what sailors call a "swell." As it gets closer, its bottom hits the rising shore below, forcing the water up, then over, sending it tumbling onto the beach, a tongue of foam coming right up to my toes — and that's when I look down, as the wave melts into the sand and I say,<p>"Hi, I'm from New York. But what about you? Where are you from?"<p>Yes, I'm asking a wave to tell me where it was born. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57985 at http://whqr.org The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever A Tough Little Droplet Fights To Stick Around http://whqr.org/post/tough-little-droplet-fights-stick-around <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pbGz1njqhxU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtlgI34y3Wc</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57775 at http://whqr.org A Tough Little Droplet Fights To Stick Around Tell Me, Wave, Where Did You Come From? Who Made You? http://whqr.org/post/tell-me-wave-where-did-you-come-who-made-you <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qQQXTMih1A</p> Sun, 06 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57635 at http://whqr.org Tell Me, Wave, Where Did You Come From? Who Made You? Watch It Swallow An Entire Tree In Seconds http://whqr.org/post/watch-it-swallow-entire-tree-seconds <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYKg0gbRFns</p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 11:11:42 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57438 at http://whqr.org Watch It Swallow An Entire Tree In Seconds Her Baby Is At Risk: Lauren's Story http://whqr.org/post/her-baby-risk-laurens-story They're odds. That's all they are. Not fate, just probabilities. <a href="http://www.laurenweinstein.com/">Lauren Weinstein</a>, cartoonist, is having a baby, and she's told — out of the blue — that she and her husband are both carriers of the gene that causes cystic fibrosis. They are sent to a genetic counselor. What happens next — told in five beautifully drawn, emotionally eloquent cartoons — tells what it's like to walk the edge for a few weeks. She's so many things (sad, funny, scared, puzzled), and then there's the ender. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 09:18:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57288 at http://whqr.org Her Baby Is At Risk: Lauren's Story What Not To Serve Buzzards For Lunch, A Glorious Science Experiment http://whqr.org/post/what-not-serve-buzzards-lunch-glorious-science-experiment OK, I'm doing great science experiments. We've done sex (see <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/krulwich/2014/06/25/325200399/two-glorious-science-experiments-one-about-sex-the-other-about-lunch">previous post</a>). On to lunch!<p>This is the story of a bird, a puzzle, and a painting. The painting, curiously, helped solve the puzzle, which is: How do vultures find food?<p>In America, back in the 1820s, everybody knew the answer. Vultures are scavengers. They eat dead things. Dead things smell. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 17:48:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57165 at http://whqr.org What Not To Serve Buzzards For Lunch, A Glorious Science Experiment Two Glorious Science Experiments: One About Sex, The Other About Lunch http://whqr.org/post/two-glorious-science-experiments-one-about-sex-other-about-lunch Done right, a good science experiment is simple, clear and revealing. Done splendidly, it's a tale you don't forget. Let's do the sex one first. It took place in Italy, in the 1760s, when a Catholic priest and scholar, <a href="http://embryo.asu.edu/pages/lazzaro-spallanzani">Lazzaro Spallanzani</a>, was thinking about sperm — which is why he decided to dress frogs in pants, like this ...<p>That's right, pants. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:26:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57093 at http://whqr.org Two Glorious Science Experiments: One About Sex, The Other About Lunch Man Floats Free In Hotel Corridor http://whqr.org/post/man-floats-free-hotel-corridor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiOjKotMqO0</p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 08:56:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 56910 at http://whqr.org Man Floats Free In Hotel Corridor Wrong! Deconstructing 5 Famous History Stories http://whqr.org/post/wrong-deconstructing-5-famous-history-stories <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYzfKiIWN4g</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLvBCR1ZOVo</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 13:46:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 56829 at http://whqr.org Wrong! Deconstructing 5 Famous History Stories Lights, Lights, Lights, Action! A Crazy New Light Projector http://whqr.org/post/lights-lights-lights-action-crazy-new-light-projector What can you do with a spotlight?<p>You can light a spot.<p>But what if you give yourself more options and invent a tool that lets light spill, splash or tighten into a beam as thin as a pencil line — a beam of light that can draw!<p>Draw what? Oh my God, so many things: a galloping unicorn, a friendly girl, a guy who kicks you in the face, a wormhole, a ball that splashes into a fluid, a cube, a spiral, a rabbit, a squid, a scribble.<p>There's a performer in New York who calls himself <a href="http://www.adandypunk.com/#!ego/c10fk">a dandypunk</a>. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 11:33:02 +0000 Robert Krulwich 56573 at http://whqr.org Lights, Lights, Lights, Action! A Crazy New Light Projector