Robert Krulwich http://whqr.org en Where The Birds Are Is Not Where You'd Think http://whqr.org/post/where-birds-are-not-where-youd-think This is a trick question. Where would you expect to find the greatest variety of birds?<p>Downtown, in a city?<p>Or far, far from downtown — in the fields, forests, mountains, where people are scarce?<p>Or in the suburbs? Mon, 28 Jul 2014 16:19:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 58751 at http://whqr.org Where The Birds Are Is Not Where You'd Think An Animal Makes A $10,000 Deposit, But Not At The Bank http://whqr.org/post/animal-makes-10000-deposit-not-bank It's a highly specialized category to be sure: "Longest." But that's what the auctioneer is selling. According to the catalog of <a href="http://www.chait.com/asp/fullCatalogue.asp?salelot=NH1407+++340+">I.M. Chait Gallery</a>, in Beverly Hills, "This truly spectacular specimen is possibly the longest example of coprolite ever to be offered at auction."<p>Coprolite is fossilized fecal matter. This specimen is roughly 20 million years old. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 58507 at http://whqr.org An Animal Makes A $10,000 Deposit, But Not At The Bank What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This http://whqr.org/post/whats-better-total-eclipse-sun-check <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyZoD7BRTtg</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:55:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 58445 at http://whqr.org What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This Neil Whosis? What You Don't Know About The 1969 Moon Landing http://whqr.org/post/neil-whosis-what-you-dont-know-about-1969-moon-landing Forty-five years ago, this week, 123 million of us watched Neil and Buzz step onto the moon. In 1969, we numbered about 200 million, so more than half of America was in the audience that day. Neil Armstrong instantly became a household name, an icon, a hero. And then — and this, I bet, you didn't know — just as quickly, he faded away.<p>"Whatever Happened to Neil Whosis?" asked the <em>Chicago Tribune</em><strong> </strong>in 1974.<strong> </strong><p>This is a missing chapter in the space exploration story. We like to think that after Apollo 11, the first duo on the moon became legendary. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:51:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 58160 at http://whqr.org Neil Whosis? What You Don't Know About The 1969 Moon Landing The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever http://whqr.org/post/most-astonishing-wave-tracking-experiment-ever I'm standing on a beach and I see, a few hundred yards out, a mound of water heading right at me. It's not a wave, not yet, but a swollen patch of ocean, like the top of a moving beach ball, what sailors call a "swell." As it gets closer, its bottom hits the rising shore below, forcing the water up, then over, sending it tumbling onto the beach, a tongue of foam coming right up to my toes — and that's when I look down, as the wave melts into the sand and I say,<p>"Hi, I'm from New York. But what about you? Where are you from?"<p>Yes, I'm asking a wave to tell me where it was born. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57985 at http://whqr.org The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever A Tough Little Droplet Fights To Stick Around http://whqr.org/post/tough-little-droplet-fights-stick-around <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pbGz1njqhxU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtlgI34y3Wc</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57775 at http://whqr.org A Tough Little Droplet Fights To Stick Around Tell Me, Wave, Where Did You Come From? Who Made You? http://whqr.org/post/tell-me-wave-where-did-you-come-who-made-you <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qQQXTMih1A</p> Sun, 06 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57635 at http://whqr.org Tell Me, Wave, Where Did You Come From? Who Made You? Watch It Swallow An Entire Tree In Seconds http://whqr.org/post/watch-it-swallow-entire-tree-seconds <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYKg0gbRFns</p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 11:11:42 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57438 at http://whqr.org Watch It Swallow An Entire Tree In Seconds Her Baby Is At Risk: Lauren's Story http://whqr.org/post/her-baby-risk-laurens-story They're odds. That's all they are. Not fate, just probabilities. <a href="http://www.laurenweinstein.com/">Lauren Weinstein</a>, cartoonist, is having a baby, and she's told — out of the blue — that she and her husband are both carriers of the gene that causes cystic fibrosis. They are sent to a genetic counselor. What happens next — told in five beautifully drawn, emotionally eloquent cartoons — tells what it's like to walk the edge for a few weeks. She's so many things (sad, funny, scared, puzzled), and then there's the ender. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 09:18:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57288 at http://whqr.org Her Baby Is At Risk: Lauren's Story What Not To Serve Buzzards For Lunch, A Glorious Science Experiment http://whqr.org/post/what-not-serve-buzzards-lunch-glorious-science-experiment OK, I'm doing great science experiments. We've done sex (see <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/krulwich/2014/06/25/325200399/two-glorious-science-experiments-one-about-sex-the-other-about-lunch">previous post</a>). On to lunch!<p>This is the story of a bird, a puzzle, and a painting. The painting, curiously, helped solve the puzzle, which is: How do vultures find food?<p>In America, back in the 1820s, everybody knew the answer. Vultures are scavengers. They eat dead things. Dead things smell. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 17:48:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 57165 at http://whqr.org What Not To Serve Buzzards For Lunch, A Glorious Science Experiment