Anastasia Tsioulcas http://whqr.org en America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://whqr.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 58437 at http://whqr.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game http://whqr.org/post/how-three-tenors-sang-hits-and-changed-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcGoY4COi-I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNQeKvVPPlc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXQGyYy-oZI</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:29:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 58150 at http://whqr.org How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York http://whqr.org/post/after-36-years-trumpeter-sounds-his-last-note-new-york <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWZoejVZnzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGLw9wC1bEE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVRSI6-MMiQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVcnjIr2Ugo</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:53:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 57515 at http://whqr.org After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://whqr.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 57031 at http://whqr.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 http://whqr.org/post/making-joyful-noise-make-music-new-york-2014 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nPzc3fAiWs</p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 18:12:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 56928 at http://whqr.org Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts http://whqr.org/post/rhythm-thats-waltzed-away-hearts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ek3eCbfqp0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEfp_ZeiT0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YZpng2PL34</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjnhGwxQkFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GWaNt9pPQM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZD_ZzubDxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_X9Plz0zc4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k1RjZ-SOLU</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 56682 at http://whqr.org A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://whqr.org/post/rafael-fr-hbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 56342 at http://whqr.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://whqr.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:06:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 55967 at http://whqr.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech http://whqr.org/post/read-joyce-didonatos-inspiring-juilliard-commencement-speech Star mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16004057/joyce-didonato" target="_blank">Joyce DiDonato</a> gave the 2014 commencement address at Juilliard Friday — and it's a memorable one, both for her words and by DiDonato's own example as someone whose own career began under low heat.<p>DiDonato has <a href="http://www.joycedidonato.com/2014/05/27/the-juilliard-schools-109th-commencement-speech-joyce-didonato/" target="_blank">posted</a> the text of her speech on her own website, and it's well worth 10 minutes of your time, whether you're an aspiring artist or need a gentle reminder Wed, 28 May 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 55635 at http://whqr.org Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech First Listen: Gabriel Kahane, 'The Ambassador' http://whqr.org/post/first-listen-gabriel-kahane-ambassador Composer and singer-songwriter <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/142514755/gabriel-kahane-tiny-desk-concert" target="_blank"> Gabriel Kahane</a> says that the inspiration for his new album,<em> The Ambassador</em>, is 10 buildings in Los Angeles — appropriate, given what a gifted musical architect he is.<p><em>The Ambassador</em> is structured as a set of 10 vignettes, each a meditation on life in the City of Angels (as well as its many demons). The narrative of each song is located at a particular L.A. Mon, 26 May 2014 03:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 55501 at http://whqr.org First Listen: Gabriel Kahane, 'The Ambassador'