Tamara Keith http://whqr.org en Obama Gets Real, Meeting The Authors Behind White House Letters http://whqr.org/post/obama-gets-real-meeting-authors-behind-white-house-letters When President Obama delivered a speech about the economy in Minneapolis on Friday, a woman named Rebekah Erler sat in the audience with her family.<p>The White House billed the president's two-day trip to Minnesota as at least in part a "<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0x4aSM5yM4">day in the life of Rebekah</a>" — and it's a throwback, in a sense, to a time before Barack Obama was a household name.<p>In 2007, when his candidacy was still considered a long shot, then-Sen. Obama spent a day walking in the shoes of a home health aide.<p>"I'm Pauline Beck. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 57230 at http://whqr.org Obama Gets Real, Meeting The Authors Behind White House Letters Administration Focuses On Challenges Working Families Face http://whqr.org/post/administration-focuses-challenges-working-families-face Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Now, a big part of President Obama's two national campaign victories was a promise to help working families. His critics complain that all these years later, he's still talking about some of the very same policy prescriptions with little to show for it. Today, ideas like paid sick and maternity leave and universal preschool will take center stage at the White House Summit on Working Families, so will the challenges faced by workers caring for their children and sometimes their parents. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:23:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56948 at http://whqr.org Political Solution Needed In Iraq, Obama Says http://whqr.org/post/political-solution-needed-iraq-obama-says President Obama is sending up to 300 military advisers to Iraq to gather intelligence on the insurgency. He was adamant there will be no American combat operations on the ground in Iraq. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56816 at http://whqr.org Obama Plans To Send Advisers To Iraq, Leaving Air Strikes On Table http://whqr.org/post/obama-plans-send-advisers-iraq-leaving-air-strikes-table Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama announced today that the U.S. will send up to 300 special forces advisers into Iraq. He says they'll gather intelligence and assist Iraqi security forces. This comes as radical Islamists continue to march toward Baghdad. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56793 at http://whqr.org Upset Of Eric Cantor Deals A Shock To GOP Establishment http://whqr.org/post/upset-eric-cantor-deals-shock-gop-establishment Eric Cantor became the first house majority leader ever to lose a primary, losing the GOP nomination to Tea Party challenger David Brat in the Republican primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 01:26:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56313 at http://whqr.org Despite Initial Doubts, Wisconsin's Second-In-Command Soars http://whqr.org/post/despite-initial-doubts-wisconsins-second-command-soars Few people expected it, but Wisconsin Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch is now a rising GOP star. The mother of two is a former TV news anchor and a cancer survivor, who left the hospital just in time to vote in her own primary. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56293 at http://whqr.org What Happened To Unemployment Benefits? http://whqr.org/post/what-happened-unemployment-benefits Five months have passed since the expiration of the emergency unemployment benefits program for the long-term unemployed. Amid congressional delays, it's unclear whether those benefits ever will be extended. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 56140 at http://whqr.org Release Of Sgt. Bergdahl May Have Come At A High Cost http://whqr.org/post/release-sgt-bergdahl-may-have-come-high-cost Bowe Bergdahl's release and the prisoner swap that made it possible are raising thorny foreign policy questions, which are being voiced most loudly at this point by congressional Republicans. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 55870 at http://whqr.org New Acting VA Secretary Faces Cultural Challenges http://whqr.org/post/new-acting-va-secretary-faces-cultural-challenges Eric Shinseki, secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs, has resigned over the growing health care scandal. He said remaining in office would only distract from carrying out needed reforms. Sat, 31 May 2014 11:46:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 55805 at http://whqr.org VA Secretary Shinseki Steps Down Amid Reports Of Systemic Problems http://whqr.org/post/va-secretary-shinseki-steps-down-amid-reports-systemic-problems Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Gen. Eric Shinseki is out as the Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs. That comes after bipartisan calls for his resignation and growing outrage over scheduling from the VA health system. NPR White House correspondent Tamara Keith reports.<p>TAMARA KEITH, BYLINE: Shinseki met with President Obama in the Oval Office this morning to brief him on a preliminary audit of the department. Fri, 30 May 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 55783 at http://whqr.org