Tanya Ballard Brown http://whqr.org en Michael Jackson, We Barely Knew You http://whqr.org/post/michael-jackson-we-barely-knew-you <em>Just as there are those who seek to drag Mr. Jackson's name through the mud, there are those who insist that he was a saint, an angelic figure to be put on a pedestal. He was neither. Michael Jackson was, like all of us, a complicated human being. --</em> "Remember The Time: Protecting Michael Jackson In His Final Days"<p>When my <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/">Code Switch</a> cousins called me over and handed this book to me — telling me my whole Michael Jackson fan-life was preparing me for THIS book and this moment — I shifted to major side-eye mode. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 57085 at http://whqr.org Michael Jackson, We Barely Knew You The Origin (And Hot Stank) Of The 'Chitlin' Circuit' http://whqr.org/post/origin-and-hot-stank-chitlin-circuit For many people, <a href="http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chitterlings">chitlins (or chitterlings)</a> are a tasty (or, for some, nasty) soul food dish made out of pig intestines. If you can get past what they are (or how badly they stank when cleaned and cooked), then you can shake some hot sauce or sprinkle some cha-cha relish on top and dig in. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 00:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 50600 at http://whqr.org The Origin (And Hot Stank) Of The 'Chitlin' Circuit' How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs http://whqr.org/post/how-about-coke-warhol-painting-grabs On Tuesday, artist Andy Warhol's oversized and iconic <em>Coca-Cola (3)</em> will <a href="http://www.christies.com/about/press-center/releases/pressrelease.aspx?pressreleaseid=6701">hit the auction block at Christie's</a>, and to borrow an old slogan from the company, It's The Real Thing.<p>Warhol painted the 6-foot-tall black-and-white canvas in 1962 as part of a series of four Coke bottle paintings. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 46038 at http://whqr.org How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs Why Didn't The Store Just Let Oprah Buy The $38,000 Handbag? http://whqr.org/post/why-didnt-store-just-let-oprah-buy-38000-handbag On the list of things to be outraged about at the moment, I'll admit this isn't at the top: The Swiss tourism office apologized to Oprah on Friday because she wasn't allowed to buy a $38,000 designer handbag while recently shopping in Switzerland. Poor lil' Oprah. *sad face*<p>It does make me wonder, though, can you ever be rich enough or famous enough or beautiful enough to not be racially profiled while shopping?<p>First, here's what happened. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 08:38:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 41251 at http://whqr.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome http://whqr.org/post/awkwardly-awaiting-zimmerman-trials-outcome <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRUfzs6I4jk</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:40:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 39693 at http://whqr.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha http://whqr.org/post/stuff-you-might-have-missed-paula-deen-brouhaha <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu6Us7fpr00</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:34:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 38548 at http://whqr.org Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? http://whqr.org/post/if-cute-cheerios-ad-causes-drama-what-wont <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYofm5d5Xdw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHh0bqD78b0</p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 37423 at http://whqr.org If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? Easy Rawlins Is Alive, Or Is He? http://whqr.org/post/easy-rawlins-alive-or-he I've been following Easy Rawlins since reading <em>Devil in a Blue Dress </em>in the '90s. That's a lot of time to give to a character. And as I read <em>Little Green,</em> I realized that I hadn't been following Easy, the character, all these years. In the past I was more invested in other parts of the stories.<p>I had enjoyed the cases Easy solved, and the way his creator Walter Mosley laid out Los Angeles and the complicated relationship between whites, blacks and Latinos in post-World War II California. Wed, 15 May 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 36441 at http://whqr.org Easy Rawlins Is Alive, Or Is He? American Tribe Fights To Halt Artifact Auction In Paris http://whqr.org/post/american-tribe-fights-halt-artifact-auction-paris An auction of sacred Native American artifacts scheduled for Friday in Paris is stirring up controversy on both sides of the Atlantic<p><a href="http://catalogue.drouot.com/indexDrouot.jsp?id=15197">Seventy Hopi "visages and headdresses</a>" — some more than 100 years old — will go on the block at the Neret-Minet Tessier & Sarrou auction house, which estimates the sale will bring in about $1 million, according to <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/04/arts/design/hopi-tribe-wants-to-stop-paris-auction-of-artifacts.html"><em>The New York Times</em></a><em>. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 19:36:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 34604 at http://whqr.org Can U.S. Embassies Be Safe Without Being Unsightly? http://whqr.org/post/can-us-embassies-be-safe-without-being-unsightly There's been a tug of war between aesthetically pleasing and safe when it comes to American embassies around the world.<p>Many embassies have been slammed as bunkers, bland cubes and lifeless compounds. Even the new Secretary of State John Kerry said just a few years ago, "We are building some of the ugliest embassies I've ever seen."<p>But the choice between gardens and gates isn't just academic for diplomats — it can affect the way they work. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:49:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 32323 at http://whqr.org Can U.S. Embassies Be Safe Without Being Unsightly?