Robin Hilton http://whqr.org en Christina Vantzou, 'VHS' http://whqr.org/post/christina-vantzou-vhs <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ipEDFkFL_A</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:47:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 57858 at http://whqr.org Christina Vantzou, 'VHS' 'Ultra LP' Version Of Jack White's New Album Has Some Crazy Surprises http://whqr.org/post/ultra-lp-version-jack-whites-new-album-has-some-crazy-surprises <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-8B-_Jq2ro</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 54500 at http://whqr.org 'Ultra LP' Version Of Jack White's New Album Has Some Crazy Surprises Neil Young Covers Bert Jansch's 'Needle Of Death' http://whqr.org/post/neil-young-covers-bert-janschs-needle-death <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6H47jI6xanA</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:02:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 53898 at http://whqr.org Neil Young Covers Bert Jansch's 'Needle Of Death' Okkervil River: Coming Of Age In Small Town America http://whqr.org/post/okkervil-river-coming-age-small-town-america I grew up in a town of about 6,000 people in rural Kansas back in the '70s and '80s. I've never romanticized it much, though it was certainly a simpler time and, for better or worse, it's where I learned to make some sense of my life. The world you inhabit when you come of age in your teen years has a way of digging its claws in you. As the years pass, no matter how far you try to get away from it, it stays with you. Wed, 28 Aug 2013 07:39:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 42170 at http://whqr.org Okkervil River: Coming Of Age In Small Town America Question Of The Week: What Are The Best Apps For Making Music? http://whqr.org/post/question-week-what-are-best-apps-making-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqpuCRF-uoc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLLjRH6GJec</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puOKqgGkWvU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqpuCRF-uoc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLLjRH6GJec</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puOKqgGkWvU</p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 20:41:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 41356 at http://whqr.org Question Of The Week: What Are The Best Apps For Making Music? Song Premiere: Beck Remixes Philip Glass With 'NYC: 73-78' http://whqr.org/post/song-premiere-beck-remixes-philip-glass-nyc-73-78 The latest tease from this fall's upcoming collection of remixed <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15680178/philip-glass">Philip Glass</a> tunes comes from <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15333650/beck">Beck</a>. The 20-minute song, "NYC: 73-78," includes snippets from more than 20 Glass songs, which Beck cut together and re-imagined.<p>Beck turned the many clips into a gorgeous, trance-inducing meditation on Glass' nearly half-century of work as a pioneering avant-garde composer. Tue, 02 Oct 2012 12:03:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 25040 at http://whqr.org Song Premiere: Beck Remixes Philip Glass With 'NYC: 73-78' Results: Listener Picks For The Year's Best Albums (So Far) http://whqr.org/post/results-listener-picks-years-best-albums-so-far The results are in and it turns out most of you who voted in our mid-year poll really love Jack White's explosive and eclectic <em>Blunderbuss</em>. But the race was close: White's album beat-out the Alabama Shakes record <em>Boys &amp; Girls </em>by less than 25 votes. Beach House's <em>Bloom</em>, one of the most popular records ever in our <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/98679384/first-listen">First Listen</a> series, came in at third. Wed, 20 Jun 2012 17:53:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 18997 at http://whqr.org Results: Listener Picks For The Year's Best Albums (So Far) A Perpetual Debate: Owning Music In The Digital Age http://whqr.org/post/perpetual-debate-owning-music-digital-age <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/allsongs/2012/06/16/154863819/i-never-owned-any-music-to-begin-with">This past weekend's post</a> from Emily White, our current <em>All Songs Considered</em> intern, provoked heated discussion about the current state and possible future of music consumption and creation. Wed, 20 Jun 2012 01:39:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 18931 at http://whqr.org A Perpetual Debate: Owning Music In The Digital Age Vote For The Year's Best Music (So Far) http://whqr.org/post/vote-years-best-music-so-far Around this time each year I begin to marvel at how we've already reached the halfway point. I haven't even taken down my Christmas lights yet and already everyone's reflecting on all the great music we've had so far.<p>For the past several weeks, the NPR Music team has been gathering to hammer out a list of the group's <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/06/08/154600951/npr-musics-25-favorite-albums-of-2012-so-far?ps=mh_frimg1">25 favorite albums</a> and <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/06/11/154785665/npr-musics-50-favorite-songs-of-2012-so-far">50 favorite songs</a>. We laughed, we cried. Tue, 12 Jun 2012 21:04:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 18306 at http://whqr.org Vote For The Year's Best Music (So Far) First Watch: Emilie Simon's Stop-Animation Fairytale http://whqr.org/post/first-watch-emilie-simons-stop-animation-fairytale French electro-pop artist and film composer Emilie Simon isn't super well-known in the U.S., but she's plenty popular in her native country. She hopes to reach a broader audience later this summer with the U.S. release of her new record <em>Franky Knight</em>. Fri, 08 Jun 2012 20:35:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 18052 at http://whqr.org First Watch: Emilie Simon's Stop-Animation Fairytale