Kelly McEvers http://whqr.org en At Venice Beach, Rich, Poor And Middle Class Coexist http://whqr.org/post/venice-beach-rich-poor-and-middle-class-coexist Economists say lower-income Americans are better off when they live in an area with a diversity of income levels. NPR's Kelly McEvers reports on an area with a wide range of economic diversity, California's Venice Beach. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 58007 at http://whqr.org Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://whqr.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 57980 at http://whqr.org On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://whqr.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 57818 at http://whqr.org Pentagon Decides To Dig Up Remains Of Long-Lost Soldier http://whqr.org/post/pentagon-decides-dig-remains-long-lost-soldier After years of refusing to act, the U.S. military has decided to disinter the possible grave of Pvt. Arthur "Bud" Kelder, a POW from World War II who is buried anonymously in an American war cemetery in the Philippines.<p>Military officials also plan to disinter the remains of 10 other men in the same unmarked grave, says Navy Cmdr. Amy Derrick-Frost, a Defense Department spokeswoman. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 57404 at http://whqr.org Are Life Spans Getting Longer? It Depends On How Wealthy You Are http://whqr.org/post/are-life-spans-getting-longer-it-depends-how-wealthy-you-are While life expectancies are getting longer for those who are well off, life spans for poor women are actually getting shorter. The stories of two women, from two very different places, illustrate the reasons for the gap. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 56980 at http://whqr.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://whqr.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 55866 at http://whqr.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage http://whqr.org/post/albuquerque-police-face-federal-scrutiny-local-outrage Kenneth Ellis III was shot and killed by police in a 7-Eleven parking lot in Albuquerque, N.M.<p>He is among the dozens of people local police have shot over the last four years, 25 of whom have died. The U.S. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 55311 at http://whqr.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage Spouses Of H1B Visa Holders May Soon Be Able To Hold U.S. Jobs http://whqr.org/post/spouses-h1b-visa-holders-may-soon-be-able-hold-us-jobs Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>With immigration reform a non-starter in Congress, those advocating reform have been urging the Obama administration to make changes on its own. And the first of those changes was announced this week. It involves the guest visa program known as H1B that allows highly skilled professionals from other countries to come to work in the U.S. The change would allow nearly 100,000 spouses of H1B visa holders to work as well. NPR's Kelly McEvers has the story.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: Back in India, Priyancka More got a management degree and an MBA. Thu, 08 May 2014 15:55:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 54579 at http://whqr.org Pentagon Reorganizing How It Brings Home America's War Dead http://whqr.org/post/pentagon-reorganizing-how-it-brings-home-americas-war-dead Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel announced an overhaul Monday of the agencies responsible for finding, identifying, and returning the remains of servicemen lost in past wars.<p>The Pentagon spends more than $100 million a year on the effort, but last year only identified 60 of the more than 80,000 missing.<p>Hagel's undersecretary, Michael Lumpkin, says there will now be one agency to bring home lost servicemen and better communication with the families of the fallen. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:19:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 52691 at http://whqr.org Pentagon Reorganizing How It Brings Home America's War Dead Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://whqr.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 52666 at http://whqr.org