Blake Farmer http://whqr.org en Remembering Ray Price, Voice Of The Nashville Sound http://whqr.org/post/remembering-ray-price-voice-nashville-sound <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1ZKIX0ICZo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1qqbc17ay8</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 15:31:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 47704 at http://whqr.org Remembering Ray Price, Voice Of The Nashville Sound Country Music Legend Ray Price Dies At 87 http://whqr.org/post/country-music-legend-ray-price-dies-87 Country music singer and songwriter Ray Price died Monday at the age of 87 at his ranch in Texas. Price was a Grammy Award Winner and who had more than 100 country hits in his decades-long career. A 1996 Country Music Hall of Fame inductee, he was credited with pioneering a shuffle beat and walking bass line that became standard in Texas dance halls. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 01:06:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 47681 at http://whqr.org Volkswagen Union Opposed By Tennessee Republican Officials http://whqr.org/post/volkswagen-union-opposed-tennessee-republican-officials When it comes to union organizing at an auto plant, the tension is typically between the workers and the management. But not at Volkswagen in Tennessee. There, the United Auto Workers is attempting to finally unionize the automaker's first foreign-owned plant in the South. And so far, Republican officials are the ones trying to stand in the way.<p>Just outside Chattanooga, in an idyllic industrial park, surrounded by green hills and even a nature park, Volkswagen built a plant a few years ago. It is still Volkswagen's only car plant in the U.S. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 21:43:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 44943 at http://whqr.org Volkswagen Union Opposed By Tennessee Republican Officials Modern Hymn Writers Aim To Take Back Sunday http://whqr.org/post/modern-hymn-writers-aim-take-back-sunday <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZuIyrwSqHY</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 19:28:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 39424 at http://whqr.org Modern Hymn Writers Aim To Take Back Sunday Women In Combat Ban To Be Lifted http://whqr.org/post/women-combat-ban-be-lifted Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On a momentous Thursday, it's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>We're expecting Defense Secretary Leon Panetta to make an announcement today. From now on, women will formally be allowed to serve in ground combat.<p>INSKEEP: To sense just how dramatic this change is, consider how many other milestones the military passed before reaching this one. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 11:45:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 30597 at http://whqr.org Military Homecomings Still Bittersweet For Some http://whqr.org/post/military-homecomings-still-bittersweet-some Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Homecomings at the nation's military bases are treated as occasions of the highest order. This morning, more than 100 families at Fort Campbell, Kentucky, waited for hugs and kisses before the sun came up. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 22:25:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 28705 at http://whqr.org Army Aims To Use Words, Not Weapons, With Afghans http://whqr.org/post/army-aims-use-words-not-weapons-afghans The U.S. Army has been ramping up instruction in the languages of Afghanistan, even as troop levels in the country decrease in preparation for the U.S. troop withdrawal in 2014.<p>This year, key installations have added several hundred speakers of Pashto and Dari to their ranks, more than doubling the number of soldiers trained in the Afghan languages.<p>But it's not just the country's languages that are foreign to U.S. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 22:26:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 23858 at http://whqr.org Army Aims To Use Words, Not Weapons, With Afghans First Prayer Service Held In Tennessee Mosque http://whqr.org/post/first-prayer-service-held-tennessee-mosque Hundreds of Muslims in Murfreesboro, Tenn., gathered on Friday afternoon for prayers in a new mosque that has — at times — divided the community.<p>Debate over the building coincided with disputes over the so-called Ground Zero Mosque in New York. The congregation in Murfreesboro weathered a bomb threat, arson attempts and a court challenge. But members say the pain was worth the prize — a proper mosque to worship in after decades meeting in a cramped office space.<p>The imam called it a day of forgiveness. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 21:47:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 22104 at http://whqr.org First Prayer Service Held In Tennessee Mosque Tired Of Mowing Your Lawn? Try Foodscaping It Instead http://whqr.org/post/tired-mowing-your-lawn-try-foodscaping-it-instead When the economy began its steep decline in 2008, almost everything related to housing hit the skids, including the lawn and garden industry. But one sector escaped the pinch: food gardening.<p>In fact, <a href="http://assoc.garden.org/press/press.php?q=show&id=3457&pr=pr_research">food gardening sales</a> nationwide have spiked 20 percent since then, and they've stayed there. Sat, 02 Jun 2012 21:05:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 17522 at http://whqr.org Tired Of Mowing Your Lawn? Try Foodscaping It Instead As Bear Population Grows, More States Look At Hunts http://whqr.org/post/bear-population-grows-more-states-look-hunts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBCNJx-xi-8</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 11871 at http://whqr.org As Bear Population Grows, More States Look At Hunts