Ann Powers http://whqr.org en The Hits Of Yesterday And Today http://whqr.org/post/hits-yesterday-and-today <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=450p7goxZqg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFEmTsfFL5A</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93ASUImTedo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIh2xe4jnpk</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:33:00 +0000 Ann Powers 57505 at http://whqr.org The Hits Of Yesterday And Today He'll Be There For You http://whqr.org/post/hell-be-there-you <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkqVm5aiC28</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlYcUqEPN58</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1oM3kQpXRo</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Ann Powers 57157 at http://whqr.org He'll Be There For You A Gentle Buzz At The CMA Music Festival http://whqr.org/post/gentle-buzz-cma-music-festival American music festivals used to be mostly a summer thing, but in many ways they now frame the concert experience all year round. In these temporary hot spots for pleasure and cultural conversation, new artists emerge as sensations and established ones do special things with fans. Culture watchers note fashion trends and predict whose careers will rise and fall by observing what emerges from festivals' impromptu communities. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 19:31:00 +0000 Ann Powers 56351 at http://whqr.org A Gentle Buzz At The CMA Music Festival Miranda Lambert's 'Priscilla,' An Ode To 'Being Queen Of A King' http://whqr.org/post/miranda-lamberts-priscilla-ode-being-queen-king Pop stars are the ideal companions of their fans' daydreams, speaking their most romantic hopes and defiant declarations through the songs on the Top 40. Miranda Lambert, however, is the kind of friend who's not going to take anybody's bull. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Ann Powers 55871 at http://whqr.org Miranda Lambert's 'Priscilla,' An Ode To 'Being Queen Of A King' Why Tori Amos Connects http://whqr.org/post/why-tori-amos-connects When I spent time on tour with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182176/tori-amos" target="_blank">Tori Amos</a> a decade ago, collaborating with her <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Tori-Amos-Piece/dp/076791676X" target="_blank">on a book</a>, I'd see her invoke <a href="http://www.umich.edu/~umfandsf/symbolismproject/symbolism.html/F/fourelem.html" target="_blank">the four elements</a> many nights before her band would take the stage. Tue, 13 May 2014 15:39:00 +0000 Ann Powers 54837 at http://whqr.org Why Tori Amos Connects Is It Worth It To Work It? http://whqr.org/post/it-worth-it-work-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zR6ROjoOX0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0CazRHB0so</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWo7SC-tG4U</p> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:42:00 +0000 Ann Powers 54597 at http://whqr.org Is It Worth It To Work It? God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music http://whqr.org/post/god-drugs-and-lizard-aliens-yep-its-country-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWx6csgGkg4</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:07:00 +0000 Ann Powers 53520 at http://whqr.org God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music Why We Fight About Pop Music http://whqr.org/post/why-we-fight-about-pop-music In 2007, the Canadian music critic Carl Wilson published a book-length experiment in extreme aesthetic sport: a sincere and shockingly comprehensive study of music he had already decided he hated. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:41:00 +0000 Ann Powers 53409 at http://whqr.org Why We Fight About Pop Music Make Peace With Pop: 6 Songs That Prove Pop Gets Along With Everyone http://whqr.org/post/make-peace-pop-six-songs-prove-pop-gets-along-everyone <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShSDMPlX8No</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou5T1SeGhOo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBr5FPIL8UU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtATrfNQJLU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzoazPPC7b8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36mCEZzzQ3o</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Ann Powers 52923 at http://whqr.org Lady Gaga At SXSW: 'Don't Sell Out. Sell In.' http://whqr.org/post/lady-gaga-sxsw-dont-sell-out-sell <em>On Friday, March 14, Lady Gaga gave the keynote at SXSW 2014, a long interview conducted by John Norris that covered her career in pop, from her roots in the rock clubs of downtown New York to her decision to partner with a corporate sponsor for the concert she performed at Stubb's the night before. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 15:48:00 +0000 Ann Powers 51884 at http://whqr.org Lady Gaga At SXSW: 'Don't Sell Out. Sell In.'