Music http://whqr.org en Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://whqr.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 58599 at http://whqr.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers First Watch: Maddie & Tae, 'Girl In A Country Song' http://whqr.org/post/first-watch-maddie-tae-girl-country-song It's starting to seem like even the bros are tired of bro country. The truck-loving Florida Georgia Line has switched up its game with the chart- dominant "<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42uphHWxmFU" target="_blank">Dirt</a>," a sensitive ballad about marriage and farming. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 12:52:00 +0000 Ann Powers 58567 at http://whqr.org First Watch: Maddie & Tae, 'Girl In A Country Song' A Rational Conversation: The Sound Of TDE's Success http://whqr.org/post/rational-conversation-sound-tdes-success <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GF8aaTu2kg0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWogKxTzdLA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14K47tDLkCA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs26NQDpIeQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwamhuY6Yy8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4r-AhBebTg</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:42:00 +0000 Eric Ducker 58541 at http://whqr.org A Rational Conversation: The Sound Of TDE's Success Finding The Anthropology In Latin Dance Music http://whqr.org/post/finding-anthropology-latin-dance-music <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15199041/jorge-drexler" target="_blank">Jorge Drexler</a>'s songs have been called introspective and literate. He's been compared to <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15168166/paul-simon" target="_blank">Paul Simon</a>. But a couple years ago, the Uruguayan musician began to wonder what it would take to write dance-oriented music. That's the assignment he gave himself on his latest album, <em>Bailar en la Cueva</em>, or "dancing in the cave."<p>"I decided to start this record from the feet and from the movement centers in the body," Drexler says. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 20:29:00 +0000 editor 58531 at http://whqr.org Finding The Anthropology In Latin Dance Music Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today http://whqr.org/post/inside-sun-records-sound-marvel-even-today For more conversations with music makers, check out NPR's <a href="http://www.npr.org/sections/music-interviews/" target="_blank">Music Interviews</a>. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 editor 58462 at http://whqr.org Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://whqr.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 58437 at http://whqr.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. Teenage Songwriters Take On 'Bro-Country' http://whqr.org/post/teenage-songwriters-take-bro-country No theme has dominated country radio playlists and charts more in the past couple of years than celebration of the sort of small-town good life that features trucks, beer and scantily clad women as the must-have accessories. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 NPR Staff 58399 at http://whqr.org Teenage Songwriters Take On 'Bro-Country' A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain http://whqr.org/post/guitar-hero-draws-his-own-sketches-spain If you're a classical guitarist, it may be impossible to resist the pull of one iconic piece: the <em>Concierto de Aranjuez</em> by Spanish composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/98281968/joaquin-rodrigo" target="_blank">Joaquín Rodrigo</a>. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 09:04:00 +0000 NPR Staff 58339 at http://whqr.org A Guitar Hero Draws His Own Sketches Of Spain NPR Music Returns For 2014's Newport Folk Festival http://whqr.org/post/npr-music-returns-2014s-newport-folk-festival The Newport Folk Festival has been around for more than half a century now — this is its 55th year, to be exact — and the event now routinely sells out months before its lineup is even announced. And why shouldn't it? Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 58267 at http://whqr.org NPR Music Returns For 2014's Newport Folk Festival For The Love Of Black Music http://whqr.org/post/love-black-music It still surprises me that a few of my colleagues who regularly attend music festivals like Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival and Budweiser Made in America still haven't heard of, or don't seem to know much about, the annual <a href="http://www.essence.com/festival" target="_blank">Essence Festival</a>, held every July 4<sup>th</sup> weekend in New Orleans at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 18:05:00 +0000 Jason King 58220 at http://whqr.org For The Love Of Black Music